“Suddenly”

IMG_20150626_111602_663Nineteen years ago today, my dad was tragically and suddenly shot and killed during a robbery. Don’t worry, this isn’t about tragedy, or feeling sorry for me, or anything of the sorts.

 It’s about the unexpected.

Suddenly is the key word.

Caught off guard.

Surprised.

And as you might imagine, I didn’t get the chance to tell my dad some things I wished I had told him. Thankfully, though, I had just told him on Father’s day, the weekend before, that his soon-to-be-born grandson would be named after him.

We don’t know how long we will have our parents. “Suddenly” could happen at any time.

Today my mom is in the hospital recovering from a fall but I expect her home soon.

Regardless of our childhood memories or upbringing, we most likely have something good that came from it.

So today I am writing a tribute of thanks to my mom. I want to invite you to join me in writing to your parent, grandparent, foster parent, or special person who might have helped you along the way, a personal note of gratitude, appreciation, and thanks.

“Dear Mom, I want to say I am grateful for……

This entry was posted in Spiritual Application and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to “Suddenly”

  1. Denise says:

    Awesome Debbie! Thanks for sharing! As I shared with you last night, this is important now while parents,grandparents, and even those we love are able to comprehend what we are sharing with them. I tried but my mom’s dimentia was too far advanced so I ended up sharing it at her funeral in the form of a letter. I love you, Debbie and am blessed to have you in my life! I plan to get busy on these tributes myself! Thanks for the inspiration!

  2. My dear Denise, You are my brother’s wife…but truly my sister. I am grateful to you. Thank you for the love you show not only me, but my mom. I am so encouraged when I am with you…and inspired to be the best I can be. Consider this a tribute to you! I love you!

  3. Debbie this is precious and you are so right! You are such a sweet jewel and I am continuing to pray for you and your Mom. I think the unexpected is some of the sharpest blows and you lady are one of the strongest people I know!

    • Andrea, Thank you for reading and for your prayers for my mom. I can’t help but pray for your ministry every time I see your name! So here goes a prayer for you too, my thoughtful and caring friend. 🙂

  4. Dot Shope says:

    Appreciation and thanks to you for your inspirational blogs. I love you, beautiful lady, and your dear Mom. Surprised to hear she is in the hospital and will see her when she gets home. So grateful to have you both in my life. I am praying for you both!

  5. Gloria Spears says:

    Suddenlies can be good or bad, but God pulls us through them all! (Romans 8:28)
    Such a great idea of writing a tribute to your Mom. We all need to let our loved ones know just how much we appreciate and love them. I know your Mom will cherish every word. I love your Mom too and pray for her healing- wholeness. Love you.

  6. Thanks for being faithful in so many ways, but especially in prayer. I love you!

  7. kelly williams says:

    I wrote my mom a note today. thanks for the reminder and encouragement to live in the moments we have-no regrets my friend!!

  8. Oh Kelly, this thrills my heart I wrote mine yesterday and left it for her in the hospital room. We will be so glad we did!

  9. Since I don’t have a mom or dad or even my amazing mother in law here anymore, (they’re all whooping it up in heaven) here’s my note to your Mom, Debbie. And after all these years, believe it or not, I don’t know her name. You’ve always reintroduced me to her and spoke of her as “my Mom”. So with embarrassment, but also a fitting salutation for this, as that’s how I’ve always thought of her, I’ll say —

    Dear Debbie’s Mom
    “Thank you for loving your daughter so well and becoming more than a mom, a friend, a support and a shining example of prayer and faith. You have blessed me by simply watching how you’ve blessed Debbie through thick and thin, the joyful and the challenging times. Thanks for modeling what it means to keep showing up and loving well!

  10. Carol…I have no words. Thank you for honoring my mother in this way. I love you, my friend.

Leave a Reply

