When It Feels Like God Isn’t Answering Important Prayers

Photo by Jan- Sometimes it can feel like a long way before we see the light!

It wasn’t there when I went back to look. I had borrowed the SD card from my camera to scan an important document to my desk top. When I went to retrieve the card the next day, it wasn’t there. I was disturbed by this. I needed that SD card, as it contained hundreds of family photos. Four the next 4 days I wondered where it could be, but hadn’t actively searched for it. Finally, a week later, as my concern grew deeper, I stood in the hallway of my house and prayed.

Lord, you know where the SD card is. Please show me.

Within 10 seconds I heard in my spirit to check my pants pocket. I immediately went to my closet.

Hum…what did I wear last week?

I slid my hand into my hanging jean’s pocket and the SD card just popped out.  There in was. In my hand. Less than 1 minute from the time I prayed.

Oh thank you God! You heard my prayer and answered me so fast! Oh thank you, thank you, thank you!

But then my joy turned to questioning.

God…you answered this simple prayer so quickly. I could have survived without this SD card. And yet I have prayed for six weeks that you heal me of the reoccurring pain within my hip and leg that has stopped me from all activity. Everyone that loves me is praying too. You could have answered THAT ONE quickly, but you chose not to. Why Lord?

There in the quiet of my walk-in-closet, I got real with God. In my frustration, I asked the hard questions.

Why? Haven’t You heard? Don’t You want to help me?

I heard His reply in my heart.

I don’t need the SD card. It’s of no use to me. I have heard your prayer and I know all about your physical pain. But your pain IS FOR MY GLORY.

At that moment I honestly felt joy… not joy for my pain, because the pain didn’t feel good! But I felt a joy deep within when I knew that my pain was not being wasted. There was a reason that God had allowed it. It was for my benefit, or another person’s benefit, and the work God was doing would point others to HIM.

Maybe you have prayed for a long time about something so important. You might feel God isn’t listening…or worse, that He answers the prayers of others but seems to have ignored yours.

Oh my sweet friend! God hears every word that His children utter to Him. I would only urge you to not lose faith or give up. Continue to pour out your heart to God as He works behind the scenes. He won’t waste your pain or circumstances. He is using it for His glory.

God, teach me while I wait. Show me what to do and which direction to take. Reveal Yourself to me in a fresh and mighty way. In Your name we ask, Amen.

But He knows the way that I take; when He has tested me, I will come forth as gold. Job 23:10

This entry was posted in Spiritual Application and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to When It Feels Like God Isn’t Answering Important Prayers

  1. lora says:

    hey debra i think this was for me ive been praying for a christian man for awhile now,im hopeing and praying he will send me a good christian man thanks for shareing,love ya.

  2. kelly williams says:

    Love it when you teach and preach!!

  3. Michelle says:

    This is something I’ve struggled with during my childhood years. I couldn’t imagine why God didn’t hear my prayers. I was in a difficult situation for a long time and As a young girl I couldn’t understand that God has a time for everything. I retreated into myself and learned to toughen up and to survive my situation but when I did that I turned away from God. I stopped talking to God and praying. I couldn’t understand how he couldn’t answer me. I hate to admit it took me way to long to find my way back and I went down a destructive path for numerous years. There are times I still struggle, when I allow myself to be taken back in time. But its just a fleeting moment because I see the miracles of God all around me. It takes time of stillness to marvel in his greatness. I have learned to be still and listen. I know God always listens to us, our timing is not his timing though we have to remain faithful and he will see us through. Thank to Debbie for sharing your love, Faith, and inspiration with us and the world. I love you sis.

  4. My dear Michelle, I will admit it. I’m crying as I read your comment. Thank you for trusting me enough to be open and share about your experiences. Truth is truth…and we’ve all felt the same way and struggled with believing God is listening. “God, work a miracle in Michelle’s life today. Reveal Yourself in a fresh and mighty way! Heal all her pain! We give YOU alone the glory…because every good and perfect gift is from above. In Your name we pray, Amen. ” I love you too, Michelle. 🙂

  5. Yvonne montgomery says:

    Deb, your writing is so good – always hits the spot! Last evening, I had an episode like you just had – w/losing something. I had been reading all those papers and info. sent home w/me from hospital. Saw something I wanted to ask questions on the next day – SAW the booklet slide down beside my chair seat, then couldn’t find that booklet anywhere, asked God to show me, immediately my mind remembered the book sliding down beside the seat. Remember, At my age, I have done this for more than a half century, I have gotten used to knowing God walks moment by moment beside me. I have verses memorized so I can contradict satan when he tries to tell me my God has walked away from me for awhile , or gone on ahead of me – 2 Corinthians 1:18-22 is one, there are others which say the same thing – get yourself some scripture to hold onto, say it throughout the day to your Spirit, to God’s Spirit – I’m sure God likes to hear your talking/confirming His Words back to Him.!!! I love you!

  6. Oh wow! I love that you said, “God walks moment by moment beside us!” Also, the verses to contradict Satan are mandatory for a successful Christian life. Thank you for sharing!! I love you and your wisdom!!

Leave a Reply

