Real Change- Part 4- Powerful Prayer

goggle images

goggle images

Why is it my house suddenly needs to be  cleaned or organized the minute I say, “I’m going to pray now”?  I round the corner of the kitchen, and ironically I see the same table I always see, but this time I just happen to notice the dust. Or I get on my knees in the living room and happen to see an old left-over Christmas decoration that had fallen off the tree. Immediately I hear Satan say, “You need to get that…or clean that…or fix this…’cause if you don’t do it now, you’ll forget!”

Why? Satan, the deceiver, knows that He is about to be stripped of all his power when I’m on my knees and crying out to God. He knows that when I pray I receive forgiveness, mercy, strength, direction, peace, and will be fired up and ready to live for Jesus. He hates it. And he cleverly uses whatever he can to keep me busy and distracted, ensuring that I don’t get to where I was going…to pray.

Prayer is powerful. It changes things. It changes everything. Satan knows this.

Why don’t we pray more often?

Why do we wait until the problem is so immense?

Why do we sometimes make prayer our last resort?

I think it might be that we struggle with unbelief—unbelief that God is really listening, and that He cares about the intimate details of our lives. Sure, we believe He is powerful, but quite honestly maybe we believe He is busy with more important things, or more important people, you know, better people than us.

These are also lies of Satan. Another attack on our emotions to keep us from praying to God. But here’s the truth and we need to intentionally choose to believe it.

God is for you.

He has every intention to fight for you.

He loves you, chose you, and has a plan for YOU.

He is Almighty, Powerful, and Creator of the Universe, keeps everything spinning in orbit, yes, but He is Abba Father too. Waiting like a good dad for you to climb up in His lap and tell Him all about it. This precise perception of who God is will change your life. Spend time every day in prayer with your Father. Pray like your life depended on it. Pray like your children’s life depended on it. Pray like you are the only one praying.

  • Pray at your comfort level. Your relationship with God is very personal, so your prayers will be personal too. It is not necessary to pray fancy prayers or use big words. Just pray what is on your heart and use your own vocabulary. My best prayer is only two words: Help me. Help me in my planning, my relationships, my job, be a good mom, wife and friend, make decisions, study, teach, witness, serve, love. In everything I do and think and especially my attitude….help me.
  • Understand to whom you are praying. He is God! Believe that He is listening and will help you. If you struggle with this, ask God to help you believe. Pray sincerely and as honestly as you know how. Tell Him everything. His mercy, grace, love, and forgiveness is limitless.
  • Pray often. 1 Thessalonians 5:17 says to Pray without ceasing. I pray while driving, cooking, or while waiting in line at the grocery store. But while praying, I’m still watching the road signs, people, measuring ingredients, and paying attention to what is going on around me. God hears these precious earnest prayers even when I am distracted. To help my concentration and focus, I make a point to pray at least once a day without doing anything else. For me this means:

Moving away from the computer.

Turning off my phone.

Closing my eyes so I don’t notice the dust on my furniture.

Going to my walk in closet where I can be alone in the dark.

  • Ask God to forgive your sins. God longs for a relationship with you! He lovingly convicts you of sin because He wants nothing standing in the way of that relationship and communication with Him. Create in me a clean heart, O God, and renew a steadfast spirit within me. Psalm 51:10 NKJV
  • Tell God what you need. The Bible says, “Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication, with thanksgiving, let your requests be made known to God; and the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and minds through Jesus Christ.” Philippians 4:6-7
  • Communication with God involves listening too. Take time to be quiet and allow God to speak to your Spirit.

This concludes Real Change. Now we must be faithful to practice the disciplines of prayer, Bible study, and worship through praise and thanksgiving. You won’t be the same.

I’d love to hear how God has worked in your life and what He has revealed to you!

This entry was posted in Spiritual Application and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Real Change- Part 4- Powerful Prayer

  1. Yvonne montgomery says:

    Deb, everything you say is so very, very true, and I pray that each person reading your blog will practice what you have said. This brings to mind what that nasty devil said to me several weeks ago – I had just got out of bed, and looking out the window, seeing the glory of the sunrise and sky and wanting to thank God for a good night’s sleep, and raising my arms to start praying right then – and that demon said I didn’t need to pray, because I was a nobody and too little to pray anything God wanted to hear, that God wants to hear big prayers from big, mighty people; I screamed you demon get out of here! I started praying my love and thanksgiving, with tears in my eyes, and knowing Jesus was right there listening and loving me back. I was surprised that satan came at me so early in the morning – probably thinking I was still too sleepy to recognise what he was trying to do to me! We must be alert and aware all the time. (Esphesians 6)
    Thank you Deb for your good teaching.

    • Thank you for sharing how sneaky the devil can be…and that he not only picks on the weak, but also the strong! You are bold and courageous! You are so wise to recognize the deceiver and you defeated his schemes!! Praise God! what a testimony! love you

  2. Carol says:

    This was fantastic. I read it to Jim right after I finished reading it. Ironically, I had just sat down to do my devotions and before seeking my devotion link “Pray as you go” clicked into emails, (my seeing dust substitute which is always on the thought line of “I’ll just check this one thing”.) But i]I did see your email with this devotion so Holy Spirit did a counter move to keep first things first. So well said, so clearly laid out and encouraging as I have quite a list today for The Lord, oh yes. A reminder of his intimate concern and plan for me in this cosmic yet personal relationship I have with him, was like hammering a stake into the flapping tent corner. The part that says, “God help me….and how am I going to fix this?. Now I’m back to God help me. Give me the wisdom, the strength. Here it is.” Thank you, Debbie. for your faithfulness and inspiration in this entry.

    • Yes…dust and emails..one in the same. Your comment has blessed me. To God be all the glory. I love you, Carol! “God, give Carol help today with her schedules, speaking, writing, family, witness, and fun. Thank you Jesus. “

Leave a Reply

