Real Change- Part 3- Four Ways to Spend Time with God that will Change Your Life

Photo by Debbie Presnell

Photo by Debbie Presnell

Real Change. We want it.

When I was younger, I was good at reading my Bible but not so good at understanding how it applied to me. For Part 3 of Real Change, we’re going to read God’s Word, make it personal, and apply it. We all want to make the best choices. We want lasting joy. We yearn for peace. By applying God’s words into our personal lives, we can make all of this happen.

Charles Stanley writes, “Making Scripture your daily companion is the best way not to miss God’s plan… Without significant time in the Word, we tend to forget what matters to God. When we start mixing the world’s lies with the Father’s truth, we step out of His plan.”
( May 2013, In Touch Magazine)

For starters, ask God to open your eyes to see what He wants you to see and to give you understanding. Psalm 119:12

1.  Open your Bible to a passage of Scripture. (I’ll talk about a devotional guide in a minute.) If you’re not sure where to start, I’d start in the New Testament: John, Philippians, Ephesians, Peter, or Colossians. Use a translation that you can understand the best. (I use the NKJV, NIV, ESV, NASB) Read a few verses, maybe a half of a chapter, or even a whole chapter.

2.  Then in your journal, summarize what you read.

3.  Next make it personal. Write your name in the verse, and apply it to your life today. The Scriptures are not meaningless words on a page written for other people…they are written for you and me. Inserting your name will extenuate how meaningful they are to you.

Here are a couple of examples. I read:

1.  Cast your cares on Him for He cares for you. 1 Peter 5:7. 

I take this literally. To “cast” means to throw. Throw my anxieties on Him! I make a list of everything I am worried about in my journal. Then I read the list off to God, asking Him to help me with everything I am worried about.

Throughout the day as my worries resurface, I remind myself that I gave them to God to handle. I pray silently to God again asking for His help.

2.  Call to Me, (Debbie), and I will answer you, and show you great and mighty things, which you do not know. Jeremiah 33:3

Again, I write this verse in my journal, and this time in insert my name. I write down some decisions I have to make and ask God to help me make the right decision.

Devotionals are good guides, especially when IMG_2411you don’t know where to start reading.

IMG_2410Two of the devotionals I use are Jesus Calling by Sarah Young & In touch, by Charles Stanley. I read the short devotional and then read the suggested Scriptures that accompany the devotion. There is no substitute for reading God’s Word. Don’t leave it to someone else to tell you what the Bible says. Read it for yourself. Then write these verses in your journal.

Sometimes I summarize the verses but more often I write them exactly as they are written in the Bible. This helps me memorize Scripture.

Meditating on Scripture and applying it to life’s trials and triumphs will strengthen your faith. As you begin to give your daily activities and worries over to God, a sweet humility will transform your life as you realize that apart from Jesus you can accomplish nothing. An inner peace will flood your spirit as you believe that God is who He says He is and will do what He says He will do.

Next week we will wrap up with part four of REAL CHANGE.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Real Change- Part 3- Four Ways to Spend Time with God that will Change Your Life

  1. Yvonne montgomery says:

    Great, Excellent Advice, Debbie! Thank you so much for imparting this truth and advice to others! thank you for the way you love and care about others.

Leave a Reply

