Real Change: Part 2-Four Ways to Spend Time with God that will Change Your Life

Photo by Debbie Presnell

Photo by Debbie Presnell

Earlier this week we spent a few minutes a day offering thanks to God. Listen to what one friend said:

I took this immediately to heart and started my 5 min of thanking God, started sweeping while thanking, then vacuuming, and was energized and so positive as I plunged into cleaning. Thanksgiving is truly a discipline and with such great emotional results that I wonder why I have to remind myself to do it. It is obedience, but the fruit of it is perspective and a much more open heart. 

Awesome…that’s just where we want to be.

For the next few minutes, let’s proceed to  read one chapter from the book of Psalms every day. I start with chapter 1 and when I read, I read out loud. There are 150 chapters in the book of Psalms. Some chapters, like Psalm 119, may need to be divided into a few days because it is so long.  After I finish the entire book of Psalms I start over again. Each time I read this book, I learn something new.

I have an online Psalm A Day group. As of today, we are on Psalm 100. I asked these woman to tell you the impact reading a Psalm a day has had on their lives. Here’s what some of them said:

The Psalms are an encouragement and a help. They remind me to praise Him more and be more thankful. Nikki

 I love the Psalms. Reading the Psalms always strengthens my faith and trust in the Lord. Tammy

Was reading psalms 100 when I received an email from a friend who is going through a nasty divorce. How special that I could remind her that she is a sheep of His pasture and that His steadfast love endures to all generations!
That’s what reading a Psalm a day means to us.  Judy

They encourage me and give me His peace to begin my day. Even the Psalms that seem to be only negative whining from David, have redemptive verses and give glimpses of our God’s love and care for us! Carrie

Making this commitment has made me more faithful to read Bible first instead of other – devotional books, etc. I see God has blessed me with His presence – soaking in his word. Gloria

There are several reasons why I read a Psalm

  1. I don’t feel alone! David, a writer of many of the Psalms, often cries out to God, ranting and raving about some problem or injustice. But his anguish turns to rejoicing with the hope and joy he knows he has. He bounces off the spiritual wall… mourning one minute, dancing the next!

You have turned for me my mourning into dancing. Psalm 30:11 (NKJV)

Often I am that way too. I can be down in the dumps, read my Bible, and I’m revved up all over again just reading the promises of God. He leads me to understand that although my situation is dire, I too have the peace and hope that comes from God alone.

Have mercy on me, O Lord, for I am weak: O Lord, heal me, for my bones are troubled. I am weary from my groaning; All night I make my bed swim: I drench my couch with tears. Psalm 6:3,6 (NKJV)

 Really? Me too!

 Then the Psalmist ends with,

For the Lord has heard the voice of my weeping. The Lord has heard my supplication: the Lord will receive my prayer. Psalm 6:8-10 (NKJV)

For me, the Scriptures are a big dose of medicine!

A merry heart does good, like medicine. Proverbs 17:22 (NKJV)

 Your Word has given me life! Psalm 119:50 (NKJV)

 Revive me according to Your Word. Psalm 119:154 (NKJV)

 You have made him exceedingly glad with Your presence. Psalm 21:6 (NKJV)

  1.         When I don’t know what to say I just read the Psalm of praise out loud. Psalm 113:1-3 is a good one to read aloud as your praise when you’re too overwhelmed to know what to pray.

 Make a joyful shout to God, all the earth! Sing out the honor of His name; Make His praises glorious. Say to God, “how awesome are Your works! Come and see the works of God; He is awesome in His doing towards the sons of men. Psalm 66:1-3,5 (NKJV)

  1.          The Psalms paint beautiful descriptive pictures of God’s handiwork and of His intricate details of creation. This helps me remember, God is still God.

The day is Yours, the night also is Yours; You have prepared the light and the sun. You have set all the borders of the earth; You have made summer and winter. Psalm 74:16-17 NKJV

We’ve taken a couple of minutes to list what we are thankful for and another couple minutes reading a psalm. That’s not a lot of time, when you consider how many hours are in the rest of the day. But these few minutes are about to change your life! Next week we will move into DEVOTION/BIBLE READING.

Press on…the journey is just beginning. Be consistent and faithful. You will not be disappointed.

 

This entry was posted in Spiritual Application and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

