I Had Back Surgery…And This is What Your Prayers Accomplished

942697_194452574048209_226704978_n

God bless you for your prayers for me.

I had only met my doctor 6 days prior to him operating on my spine. I didn’t pick him–I was assigned to him, like most patients, I guess, when there is a referral from another doctor. After speaking with him and arranging the surgery, I was instructed to stop at the desk and fill out some paper work. That’s when I first heard 106.9 radio on in the background. It wasn’t music playing…it was Chip Ingram speaking on Ishmael.

“Someone in this office must be a Christian,” I said.
Two women turned around.
“We both are.”
“I’m a Christian too. Do you happen to know if doctor Moody is?”

First prayer answered. I was assigned to a Christian.

After the surgery, Dr. Moody spoke to my husband. Alan, stood to shake his hand and said, “God bless you.”
“God gets all the glory,” responded Dr. moody.
The next morning Dr. Moody came in to discharge me.

“You had to have been the most prayed for doctor in all of Asheville yesterday if not in all of North Carolina. I had over 300 messages of prayers going up.”

His response touched me. He didn’t just say okay or thank you. He said, “I felt them.”

The doctor felt them. He felt your prayers for us.

Praise the Lord, O my soul. O Lord my God, you are very great: You are clothed with splendor and majesty.
Psalm 104:1

Nurse Mark prepared me for surgery. We talked…a lot. What began as educational topics led to home schooling, which led to church. I was glad to see my pastor from Biltmore Baptist East, James Myers, come to visit. Mark had questions about the different translations of the Bible. Pastor Myers and Mark discussed Galatians. We both invited him to our church. Another nurse came in with a gold cross necklace around her neck. I asked if she had seen the movie, God’s Not Dead yet. A quick diversion from my blood pressure and blood tests led to looking up the stars of this movie and a quick look at the movie trailer on the laptop. Both said they were planning to see the movie now.

And that’s not all! Mark noticed that my hear rate hovered around 58-65 which was very low for someone getting ready to go into back surgery.
“You are calm and peaceful,” he noted.

I will sing to the Lord of my life; I will sing praise to my God as long as I live. May my meditation be pleasing to Him, as I rejoice in the Lord.
Psalm 104:33-34

Two of my girlfriends, Ann and Starsky, found their way to my pre-op room and stayed with me. And Teresa, a high school friend that I hadn’t seen in 34 years greeted me with hugs and prayers! She was also a nurse working on another floor. Additionally, friends shared their own encouraging testimonials as to the success of their loved ones’ operation under the care of Dr. Moody.

At the appointed time the anesthesiologist gave me the drugs to put me to sleep and then wheeled me to the operating room. The anesthesiologist was a nice man, a funny man, who kept telling me to have happy thoughts. Then he came at me with the oxygen mask. Regardless of my time being short for only a few words, I DID have the last word.

“Are you saying I have to go to sleep now?” I asked.
“No, no, no, only when you are ready. Think happy thoughts.”

Then he quoted something from Budda and again came at me with the oxygen mask. Once more I said, “Are you saying it’s time to go to sleep?”
He laughed. “When you are ready…just think good thoughts.”

“God is so good.
God. Is. So. Good.
God…is…”

I had the last word. I had my happy thoughts. From the beginning to the end God was with me and His promises in me.

This is the power and the result of your prayer.

Fear of the unknown could have taken over but as I reflect on the sequence of events I’m amazed at how what we listen to or wear can bring peace to a person and cause them to feel God’s presence. From the radio station to the gold cross, I was surrounded.

Surrounded with everything good. And everything God. Not even Budda had the last thought.

I was reading something by Joni Eareckson Tada. Here’s an excerpt:

“We make God happy when we showcase Jesus in our lives. We make God happy when we reflect to those around us any attribute or character quality of Jesus. When by God’s grace we remain patient, resist temptation, offer a smile, bless a child, sit silent, meet a need, sign a hymn, repeat a Scripture, praise the Father, give the gospel, work faithfully, feed the starving, help a neighbor. We are making God happy. How so? We are making more explicit the character of God to those around us.”

Simply put, from the first sound of the radio, to the cross necklace, to the ability to voice the final happy thoughts, the encouraging words … all evidence that your precious prayers were heard and answered. God is indeed around us. God is happy with the way we show our love and need for Jesus.

I will be recuperating at home for the next 8 weeks. I would love to pray for you. Please reply to this post with your prayer needs.

 

This entry was posted in Spiritual Application and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to I Had Back Surgery…And This is What Your Prayers Accomplished

  1. Great story of God’s grace and faithfulness.

  2. Suzanne says:

    Meagan let me know about you being in surgery. I’ve been praying for you. Love you 😉

    • Oh, I’m so glad Meagan let you know. As you can see there’s great power in our prayers. I love and miss you. I’m not doing much for 8 weeks so lets plan to talk and catch up!

  3. Grace and faithfulness…well, it just can’t get any better than that! Love you, Carol.

  4. Ann Tatlock says:

    Glorious! How I love to see the hand of our loving Lord at work. I thank Him for His amazing answer to our prayers for you, Debbie.

  5. yvonne montgomery says:

    And the Lord has enabled you to remember word for word so you could write about your experience, causing us all to Praise and Thank Him for His goodness and protection! It’s “Yes” and “Amen” to the Glory of God. 2 Corinthians 1:20-22 Love, Love,Love!

  6. Beth Barker says:

    I am so glad that you found out what was wrong and got it fixed!! God knew all along how he was going to fix it!!! Loved praying for you this week. Thank you for letting us know how He worked!

  7. Jill Pruett says:

    Your story made me feel so warm inside! What a testimony to our Lord!! If you will continue praying for all of our connect group….that would be wonderful, Debbie!! Love you so much and we are praying for your healing to go quickly!! Xoxo

  8. I am praying for my Biltmore Connect Group! Every single woman… To God be the glory for the things He has done…and has yet to do. Love you, Jill!

  9. Gloria Spears says:

    Thank you Lord for successful surgery for Debbie, you are the Master physician. Thank you for your doctors too and those that are not ashamed to proclaim your name. Psalms 107:20

  10. You are right! Thank you God for the physicians who know that their intelligence, gifts, and talents, came from you! Bless our doctors!!!

  11. wendybrz says:

    You are a mighty prayer warrior. Thank you for being willing to use your convalescent energy to bring others to the Lord! You won’t waste a prayer on me – some heart issues that the new meds are making worse, and the ever-present back troubles too. Mostly though, will you pray for peace in our home as Betsy and I spend two weeks in SC? She is coming home for a vacation from Guatemala.

    • I have already started praying for you, Wendy, and I am excited to see what God is going to do over the next 6 months! Super excited that Betsy is coming home to S.C. for a visit. Let’s talk soon about your specific back pain. I seem to remember your issues from years ago. I love you and have missed you so much. I look forward to see you again soon. 🙂

  12. Debbie thank you for sharing your story. What a great example of answered prayer, to God be the glory, every detail perfectly planned! I am grateful that everything went well, now am praying for a speedy recovery!! Love You!

    • Sally, my special prayer warrior. How I love you. And how God loves us…so much so that He works in every detail of our lives. Thank you for your continues prayers. I am very sore! My foot is still numb and might be for a while. Thank you for praying for Will too. 🙂 Looking forward to our lunch date soon. 🙂

  13. Diane Foote says:

    Debbie: What an amazing testimony!!! I am so glad this is over for you & that God was honored in so many ways!!! God bless you & heal you quickly. Love you, Diane

  14. Michelle says:

    Love this post 🙂 God is good at all times, even when we sometimes wonder, He always gives us what we need. So glad that all worked out and you are recouping at home. You are in my prayers, Love ya, Chelle.

    • Hi Michelle! Thank you for your prayers. But it’s your turn now!! I want you to be healed of your leg pain. We are together praying and believing. Yes, God is good! 🙂

  15. Gerda Teo says:

    Dear Deb,
    Marvelous account of God’s constant presence all the time, but also of your openness to see it!
    With love and continuing prayers,
    Gerda

    • Yes, God’s grace and answers are everywhere. Thank you for your continued prayers. My foot is still numb and I am having back pain (spasms) at the incision site. Love you, Gerda!

  16. Deb Harvey says:

    Wow….God has really used you during this time, Debbie. I’m so thankful that He worked everything together for His glory. Continuing to pray for you during your recovery!

  17. Debby says:

    This is beautiful Deb … I’m keeping you in prayer as you continue to recover in His arms. Xo!

  18. Caroline Clark says:

    I knew your surgery had gone well, but OH, how your blog almost made me cry! I am honored to have your example so closely in my life. Thank you for loving me and demonstrating what it means to have a spirit-filled life.

    -Mrs. Clark (:

    • Dear Mrs. Clark…hehe…
      Thank you for praying for me and my recovery. God was everywhere! I have learned so much from you my sweet darling too!You have blessed my life!

Leave a Reply

