Why? Because We Love Him

Lanie- Playing with Jewelry

Lanie- Playing with Jewelry

Recently my little granddaughter, Lanie, 4 years old, visited me at my house.

 Walking with me into my bedroom she spotted my jewelry box.

“Na-na,” she asked. “Can I look at your jewelry?”

 I put the jewelry box on the floor so she could have a closer look.

 Holding a sparkly bracelet she asked, “Na-na, where did you get this?”

“From Olga”, I said.

“Why?” she asked.

“Because she loves me.”

Clutching dangling silver earrings, she asked, “Where did you get this?”

“From your Auntie Ann.”

“Why?”

“Because she loves me.”

Embracing a dazzling gold heart with a red stone she asked, “Where did you get this?”

“From your mommy,” I responded.

“Why?”

“Because she loves me.”

Picking up a gold ring she asked, “Where did you get this?”

“My mom gave it to me. It was her high school ring.”

“Why?”

“Because she loves me.”

And to a diamond heart she asked, “Where did you get this?”

“From your papa.”

“Why?”

“Because he loves me.”

With a sweet but curious countenance she asked, “Does everybody love you?”

I laughed. “Yes, I suppose they do.”

Thoughtfully she put all the jewelry down.

With wide eyes she peered into my face and said, “I will bring you something too.”

Oh how completely precious!

I was overcome with joy and love as Lanie equated giving a gift to express love.

I didn’t cry that day.

But I’m crying now…as I reflect on the experience.

I love God! What can I give Him to show how much I do?

You do not delight in sacrifice, or I would bring it; You do not take pleasure in burnt offerings. The sacrifices of God are a broken spirit; a broken and contrite heart, O God, You will not despise.

Psalm 51:16-17 (NIV)

 Broken and contrite heart?

Contrite is an adjective, and means to express remorse.

From a theological perspective this means having sorrow for sin with a true purpose of amendment, coming from a love of God.*

God wants my heart.

A heart that is humbly dependent on Him.

A heart that trusts Him fully.

A heart that admits one’s need for Him…and Him alone.

A heart that is thankful.

This Valentines Day give your heart fully to God. That is all He desires.

Create in me a pure heart, O God, and renew a steadfast spirit within me.

Psalm 51:10 (NIV)

*dictionary.com

This entry was posted in Spiritual Application and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Why? Because We Love Him

  1. Olga Miller says:

    What a beautiful message. Thank you! for sharing it with us.

  2. Gloria Spears says:

    Beautiful Debbie. Today’s blog stirs my heart once again, a special way of sharing Gods love to us, with Lanie. She’s such a beautiful granddaughter. God’s heart is toward us always, and we love Him because He first loved us! What a gift HE placed in us, LOVE.

  3. Angela Strickland says:

    What a treasured moment! When children answer through action, and show such understanding, we know that we have been laying the groundwork and recognizing such purity that all Gods children are ultimately given at birth. Lanie showed complete and wonderful selfless love to you. What a true gift from GOD! Thank you for sharing your gift with us! By the way….because we love you!!!!! right back to you Debbie!

  4. yvonne montgomery says:

    What an article! Such wisdom and understanding! So super sweet! Everybody wants/needs to hear “I love you”, daily! And, most of all say it, out loud to Almighty God, and if you feel you just can’t say it deeply enough, ask the HOLY SPIRIT to say it for you! And, oh,my! How He does!! Thank you Deb and Lanie …….. for spreading the LOVE. I love you!

  5. Kelly Williams says:

    Oh…..be still my heart. Thank Debbie. Happy Heart day to you. I love you, Kelly

  6. Jill Pruett says:

    I loved the picture of Lanie. Seeing her sweet face is such a reminder of how much God loves us…..thank you, Debbie for sharing this with us on Valentine’s day! Love you!

    • Jill… another faithful friend who reads y post faithfully and supports and encourages me. From one grandmother to another, we know that we can learn so much from our children and grandchildren. I love you!

  7. Gerda says:

    Lessons about love, like miracles, appear in our lives daily. So glad you regularly recognize them when they appear, and then share them with us. Much love, gto

    • Well, thank you for allowing me to share my experiences with you! So great having coffee with you a few weeks ago. Looking forward to our next tea/coffee and prayer time together. Love you!

  8. Miriam Lewis says:

    Debbie this is the most beautiful story I have ever read. You are a blessing in my life and I know why everybody loves you. You have always known what I needed and you do now. Happy Valentine’s Day, and God bless you and your wonderful loving family

    • Mariam, so glad you liked my story. God gives me insight and understanding…He is the one that knows just what you need. He knows your current situation and everything that you have been through. Always/keep calling out to Him. He loves you so much! Thank you for your encourging words!!

  9. Michelle says:

    Deb, what a wonderful sweet message. Lanie is such a precious girl. I understand why everybody loves you…You do so much for others, not just material things either, you help all of us by spreading the word and love of God. For some that is nothing new but for those of us with doubts and for those who don’t know God’s greatness it is a message that needs to be spread. So for that Thank you!! You are always in my prayers and thoughts. Oh yeah….I Love You!!!

  10. Michelle, cheerleader friend, I long to spread the love of God because He has done so much for me. He has shown Himself faithful and compassionate in the past and because of that I know He will be faithful in the future. Let’s keep praying for healing for each other. God is working through us…and our pain. Happy Valentine’s Day! I love you my faithful friend!

  11. Deb, I just got around to reading this post today, and I love your message of LOVE!
    As a Nana, I can totally relate to putting your jewelry box in the floor…
    Love,
    Susan

Leave a Reply

