A Pocketful of Evidence

IMG_0538From my Journal

Covered in a mixture of chocolate ice cream and dirt, Will came running into the house screaming with excitement. “Mom, Dad, I found a bird egg! It’s white with bluish-gray speckles,” he proudly declared. After chatting about God’s creation, Dad and I explained that the egg needed to be put back in the nest so its mother could take care of it. Will left to return the egg to its nest.

Within moments, however, he returned to the kitchen. The sweet, five-year old voice said, “Mom, I didn’t get to put the egg back. I put it in my pocket and …the baby bird hatched!”

Oh, the wonder of God changing an egg into a bird. And it began in the pocket of my son’s pants!

 Dad and Will nestled the baby bird back into its nest right away. Later that night I found Will’s pants on the washing machine. I pulled the pocket inside out.

And there it was– evidence that new life had begun. Fragments of egg shells and blood filled the little pocket lining.

Oh my goodness. It really happened! New life began in my son’s pocket.

 If I hadn’t seen the evidence I don’t know that I would have believed it.

Then as I stood there quietly, alone in the dimly lit laundry room, I felt a gentle impression in my heart.

Is there evidence in your life that you have new life in Me?

 In Jesus Christ?

Evidence of new life is called fruit.

The fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, longsuffering, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, and self control.”

Galatians 5:22

I reflected.

Would people be shocked to learn that I am a Christian based on my behavior? I began to ask myself:

  •       Would others know I’m a Christian by listening to the way I speak to others                     and about others?
  •       Does my attitude reflect inner peace?
  •       Do I show kindness to people I run into throughout the day?
  •       Am I joyful even when my circumstances are not?
  •       How do I respond when I am confronted, challenged,  angry, wrongly accused, and         pushed to my limits?

I wanted to get ALL THE FRUIT in my life! So I tried to be peaceful. I flashed a fake smile indicating joy when my heart was breaking. And forced patience can last only so long.

Failure was all I had by the end of the week. Then I realized…

…we don’t get the fruit of the Spirit…it gets us.

That’s right. Evidence of God in our lives will happen naturally when we spend time with Him.

On May 28, 2013 an actor was interviewed on Good Morning America and was asked about his preparation for an upcoming movie role. He answered, “You start to feel more like the character and think like he would the more you spend time with him.”

So that’s how we bear fruit. The more time we spend with God the more we look like Him.

Over the coming weeks I will be posting a five- part series on spending time with God, where I share with you what’s worked for me and how its made a huge difference in my life.

Just as the evidence of the bird was in Will’s pocket, evidence of God can be in our lives too.

Behold, I make all things new.

Rev. 21:5

This entry was posted in Spiritual Application and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to A Pocketful of Evidence

  1. Your comment came though fine. Thank you Carol, for your encouragement. Glad it surprised you! Love you my friend. 🙂

  2. yvonne montgomery says:

    As always, Debbie, just GREAT and SUPERB!! …….more! more!

  3. Jill Pruett says:

    Debbie, I love this “Will” story! 🙂 I definitely felt convicted by the questions you posed to yourself. Thank you for an awesome post!

  4. Jilly, thank you for your comment and your encouragement to me! I am soooo blessed to have you in my corner. You are precious!

  5. Diane says:

    Debbie: Once again that was a wonderful relation to our everyday life & our Christian life. Awesome!!! Thank you!! Diane Foote

  6. Thank you for your comment, Diane. You always have a way of lifting me up! 🙂 I’ve missed you and I hope I see you Wednesday! 🙂

  7. debharvey51 says:

    Thank you so much, Debbie. This is exactly what I want to concentrate on this year. I want there to be evidence in my life that I’m spending time with God.

  8. Michelle says:

    As Always…GREAT food for thought!!! What a great question to ask oneself. If we each take the time to examine our lives we all will be much better off. Loved hearing another Will story, I sure have missed your stories 🙂 Our children are some of God’s best lessons and work.

  9. Sue Ciullo says:

    New life began in the pocket of your son’s pants! God is cool!

  10. Gerda says:

    Loved reading Will’s “bird-(egg)-in-the-pocket” story, and look forward to your 5 part series. I am sooo thankful that our Father in heaven is “patient and kind,” Love, Gerda

  11. Incredible story and wonderful teaching moment from God above! Love, Susan

Leave a Reply

