New Year…New You…FOR REAL

IMG_2386

My Favorite Chair with My Favorite Book-My Bible

With the turn of the calendar page, 2013 is over and a new year begins. Most of us at one time or another has made resolutions or goals. Do you want this time around to be different? Really different.

Are you ready for a change for the better, everlasting, and good?

I invite you…encourage you to have only one resolution.

In keeping this one resolution, however, your life will be changed forever. Additionally this one resolution will affect EVERY SINGLE AREA OF YOUR LIFE.

I promise.

Decide to read a passage in the Bible every day.

No prescribed time limit or expectation. Just read.

I’ve tried that, you say. The words meant nothing to me. I didn’t understand it. I wasted these few minutes and came away feeling nothing.

 That’s okay if that was your previous experience. Try it again.

Still nothing?

 Read it again the next day. And the next. Just keep to the habit.

As you continue to trudge through this task because of a commitment you made, say this:

God, reveal yourself to me.

Then keep reading.

The Bible is a series of events, lessons and stories but not necessarily sequential. Start your Bible reading in the book of John, or Philippians, or James. Read a little or a lot each day, but finish the whole book.

Continue to say:

God reveal yourself to me. Help me understand these Words.

 Do this every day at any time during the day.

Okay… make it a habit. Do it just to say you did it….

No matter your initial motivation, I still promise that this ONE THING will change your life…if you faithfully persevere with “your commitment.”

Continue to read, asking God to reveal Himself to you. But also say a little something more to God.

You know this as prayer but it’s really just voicing your thoughts to God, which by the way He already knows. So you won’t shock Him or disappoint Him.

It’s not about elaborate words or trying to be holy or good enough to talk to God.

It’s about being real. Here’s a prayer:

God, help me.

 With what do I need help? You may ask.

I don’t know… just ask for God’s help.

If you’re like me every area of my life needs help.

Help with my decisions.

Help with my work.

Help to be a good mother, friend, daughter, wife.

Help with my attitude.

Help with my response to other people.

There’s no area of my life that I choose to go it alone.

So, God help me.

 In the coming weeks I will be sending out a five-part series on how to spend time with God. So look for it!

But for now….

Read.

God, reveal yourself to me.

 Pray.

Help me.  I need YOU to show up in my life and my home and my family. And when you do, help me to recognize YOU.

We can not see God. But we can see the evidence of His work all around us.

Look for it. Like a faint ray of morning sunshine coming through your window.

Call to me and I will answer you, and show you great and might things which you do not know.

Jeremiah 33:3

 *If you have made this resolution with me I’d love to hear from you! I will faithfully pray for you on this journey.

This entry was posted in Spiritual Application and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to New Year…New You…FOR REAL

  1. Angela Strickland says:

    I am taking a step foward to listen more, and begin this journey! Amen and Amen! God bless this message, and please help with all of us on this journey. Happy New Year Debbie!

  2. Melisa Smith says:

    Wow, I can’t wait for the series to start. The enemy keeps us so busy so we won’t take this time with God and His word. Lets do this lets take this challenge and watch what God will do!

  3. Michelle says:

    First, So glad to see another blog post. I have really missed them 🙂 Secondly, I have been trying to read from the Bible before bed but like you said I don’t always understand what I am reading and will put it back down. I am making it my goal to read a passage everyday! I can’t wait to see what you have in your upcoming series. We all need to listen/see more of God’s work; this is another thing I need to work on. Please keep the inspiration coming to us. God is at work;we just need to take the time to breathe and enjoy his bounty. Much love my friend!!!

  4. Jill Pruett says:

    I’m really glad you chose to blog about reading our bibles daily. I needed to hear that “pep talk” to get me started this year! Thank you, Debbie…..you are so encouraging!

  5. Carol Anderson says:

    I like this. The strongest is what you put in bold and what resonated with me when we spoke on the phone. Reveal yourself to me. Good stuff.

  6. Ann Opala says:

    Debbie, thank you for telling me to make reading God’s word and praying a habit, regardless if I’m feeling alive or numb. I could not help but think of the Nike slogan ” JUST DO IT”. God never breaks His promises, He hears me when I pray, and He instructs me when I read, no matter my circumstances.
    Thank you my dear Debbie for reaching out to me,
    Love you,
    Ann Opala

  7. Best resolution we can make! Great post. Love ya, Susan

Leave a Reply

