Be Courageous

Julianne, near Linville Falls on the Blue Ridge Parway

Julianne, near Linville Falls on the Blue Ridge Parkway

Courage is…fear that’s been prayed for.*

This afternoon, my youngest daughter, Julianne, called me from college. She was elated.

“Mom, you’ll never believe this. I had to give a speech in biology class today. I woke up nervous and afraid. I was really scared to stand before the group and talk. I reached over for my devotion book and opened it. There I read:

 Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid or terrified because of them, for the Lord your God goes with you; He will never leave you nor forsake you.

Deuteronomy 31:6 (NIV)

 Can you believe that?

 I prayed and asked God to help me get over my nervousness and not be afraid. I asked Him to help me do the talk.

 Later, I went to class and gave my speech.

 I wasn’t afraid and in fact I did really well! The instructor even said so.”

 Fears.

Real…and on many different levels.

Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be terrified; do not be discouraged, for the Lord your God will be with you wherever you go.

Joshua 1:9 (NIV)

We know the command is  there. We’ve read the words. Now let’s take it a step further….

Choose to believe it.

Consciously decide to give your fears to God and expect Him to take care of you.

 What do you fear?

Is it public speaking?

The economy?

Your  401k?

Finances not stretching?

Children’s poor choices?

Sickness?

Losing your job?

Social security?

National security?

Wars?

Personal safety?

Do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.

Isaiah 41:10 (NIV)

Resist looking at your fear-provoking circumstance. Gaze on God instead.

Be of good courage, and He shall strengthen your heart, all you who hope in the Lord. 

Psalm 31:24 (NKJV)

Fear… whatever it is….

tell Jesus all about it.

Jesus. Jesus. JESUS!

There’s power in His name. Ask Him to remove your fears, make you courageous, strengthen you, and take care of you.

God is our refuge and strength, a very present help in trouble.

Psalm 46:1

When Julianne was afraid she didn’t just sit on it. She knew where to go—God’s Word.

  •  First, she read His words.
  • Second, she chose to believe them.
  • Third, she prayed. And God erased her fears and made her courageous.

Ironic…

I sometimes struggle with fear with regard to my children’s choices. So, I told God about it.

Show me spiritual growth in my children…I prayed.

And that’s when I got the wonderful call from Julianne. Seems God answered my prayer too.

For God has not given us a spirit of fear, but of power and of love and of a sound mind.

II Timothy 1:7 (NKJV)

*Quote heard on a Christian radio station by an unknown announcer.

This entry was posted in Spiritual Application and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Be Courageous

  1. Great post. Fear is my issue. I fight the battle daily. It’s great to know we have someone who loves us enough to combat the fear for us.

  2. Melisa says:

    Wow this was timely… Tim and I were just haviing a converstation about fear on the way to work today. With all that is going on in our Nation and how it is affecting the child care world I needed to be reminded to be courageous. Thank you for listening to the Holy Spirit and allowing Him to guide you as you write these devotions.

    • Wow, that gives me chills because God’s timing is so perfect! I am thankful for pastors like Tim and for leaders like you in the child care world! My personal prayer is that I would walk in the spirit and listen to the spirit so I can write timely, meaning blog posts. Thank you for your prayers for me. I will pray for the work you and Tim do together. 🙂

  3. Melisa Smith says:

    LOVE YOU DEBORAH

  4. Kelly Williams says:

    Home run!

    Sent from my iPad

  5. Diane says:

    Wow!! Again what an uplifting post. Thank you so much for the encouragement. I have passed it on to my girls (daughter & daughter-in-love). I have just been looking at fear & those very scriptures. It’s funny how the Lord reinforces what he’s showing us. Love you girl. Diane

  6. yvonne montgomery says:

    This is so powerful! Power in the Scriptures! Power in the Name of JESUS! Thank you so much for reminding and encouraging me …. by sharing your life experiences! Love you!

  7. Michelle says:

    How amazing is God! Fear is something always running on the edge of my circle. Some days it more visible than others and at times I do forget that God is always there to back me up. Thanks for sharing and always encouraging me and reminding me to just be still and listen. Much love my friend!

  8. Mine too… as you read. But yes, God is so amazing!!!! Michelle, thank you for listening and supporting me in my desire to support you and all the others who are reading! :)Love you!

  9. Judy Gentry says:

    If we are honest, fear can be found just about anywhere. How comforting to know that courage sprouts and grows when we surrender our fears to Christ. Thanks Debbie.

    • You are so right, Judy. Can you imagine a life without Christ? I would be too afraid to live (or die). For me it’s a daily surrendering of my fears to God….daily… Thanks for reading and your comment. 🙂

  10. Sandra Turbyfill says:

    My biggest fear is the one I experience at the time I am having to deal with it. Going back to God’s truth, remembering His promise and trusting him has gotten me through it. But I am also dealing with the fear of not trusting myself in being faithful and obedient to His word. David wrote search me and know my heart=well there is a lot of ugly in my heart and I fear it will always be there. It is daily task to take it before God and ask for forgiveness and to clean it.

    • Hello Sweet Sandra! After all these years I feel I can hear you speaking directly to me! I know exactly what you are saying…fear of not being faithful. A daily task or walk with God is what God wants…daily– not jumping ahead, but daily asking God to “renew my heart.” You are doing that! Daily eat of God’s word. I miss you!

  11. How sweet that our Lord answered your prayer that you might see spiritual growth in your children while taking away Julianne’s fear. Great reminder that we only have to ask and He’ll quiet our spirits, and take away our fears. Sweet post, Deb.

  12. I am still in awe at the mercy God showed me when He answered my prayer so sweetly. Susan, thank you for your faithful friendship. You are truly an inspiration and an encouragement to me. 🙂

  13. Kelly Rice says:

    Good post Deborah! As for me, I’ve learned that fear always holds me back whereas faith propels me forward. When one is at work in our heart, the other is not. God help me to live by faith…not in fear.

Leave a Reply

