Praying for Your Children

IMG_2103I’ve always prayed for my three children.

I bet you’ve prayed for yours too.

But as mine have become young adults my prayers has changed. They no longer live within the confines of the playpen, with me making the decisions about what they’ll wear and what they’ll eat. Now that they can think on their own and make their own decisions, my prayers for them are that their hearts be one with God. Focused more on intrinsic desire and spiritual motivation, I know that my “wants” for them ultimately have to be their “wants” for themselves. So the words of my prayers have changed but the urgency remains the same.

I’ve also come to realize that I’m it…I’m the one.

Sure, my husband, friends and family lift up my child in prayer but the intense pleas for my offspring come mostly from my heart and my mouth.

It’s my knees that are worn out… crying out to God on behalf of my child.

Many tears shed.

And for YOUR child? Those prayers come from YOU.

There is no other woman praying for your child like YOU. That’s right…nowhere in this entire universe is there another woman praying for your child with all the love and passion that you have… the mom.

Here are powerful prayers to pray.

Put your child’s name (no matter the age) in the blanks and pray daily.

(This first prayer was prayed by King David for his son Solomon before he built the temple.)

And give my son/daughter ______________________, a loyal heart to keep your commands and your testimonies, and your statutes, to do all these things.
II Chronicles 29:19

Open _____________________eyes to see what You want her/him to see.
Psalm 119:18

Dear God,
I pray that ___________________ will know Your specific plan for her/his life. May her/his conversation, character, and conduct, reveal obedience to You. I pray he/she will live in a manner worthy of Jesus Christ. I pray he/she will bear the fruit of the spirit and influence the world one person at a time. I pray ____________________ will study the Bible, apply what it says, and grow closer to You every day. I pray he/she will recognize the connection between her decisions to obey and disobey You and the consequences or blessings that result. I pray __________________will realize his/her helplessness and rely on Your strength. I pray she/he will remember to give thanks to You and to trust You. I pray that hardships will develop a deeper character. In the name of Jesus, I pray.

Prayer based on Colossians 1:7-14

Pray a non-judgmental prayer since we don’t know what God’s plans are for our children and what He is teaching them at every moment:

“I pray ____________________will hate what You hate and love what You love.”
Now put YOUR name in the following blanks:

But you, _____________________, be strong and do not let your hands be weak, for your work will be rewarded.
II Chronicles 15:7

That same verse in the NIV reads: But you, __________________, be strong and do not give up, for your work will be rewarded.

Pour out your heart like water, ________________, for the life of your child(ren).
Lamentations 2:19

Your effectual, fervent prayer, _________________, avails much!
James 5:16
The following verse is my personal prayer and I have it framed on my table beside my Bible:

I have no greater joy than this, to hear of my children walking in the truth.
3 John 1:4

IMG_1967I framed my children’s pictures with these verses in a collage-type frame. Recently I added my granddaughter’s picture. This, too, sits on the table beside my Bible. It’s a visual reminder to continually pray.

Additionally, I use a journal to record their specific prayer requests. Some of these prayers are prayers for the year, for example, choosing a college, finishing his senior project, good grades in school, and good friends. Others are specific to the day or week, for example, taking a biology test that day, or a friendship problem.

IMG_1968

Yes, it’s a prayer—and the most awesome responsibility and privilege to come before the Almighty, Creator of everything from roses to canyons, completely powerful with only His spoken word. And yet, He is so mindful of the concerns and fears of mothers that He graciously opens His arms and invites us to come talk…cry…pray…on behalf of our little and not so little children. What an honor!

And about all those tears? You’ll love this…..

When they walk through the Valley of Weeping it will become a place of refreshing springs where pools of blessing collect after the rain!
Psalm 84:6 NLT

Image | This entry was posted in Mothers and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Praying for Your Children

  1. So good and practical. Also gave me an excuse to stop and pray for them. Well, not that I need an excuse, but you know what I mean….an “opportunity”. I copied a good part of this on to my desk top that I can pray those Scriptures for them consistantly. Good blog!

  2. Yay! I’m so glad you liked it. You bless my heart every time I hear from you. I just appreciate your love for my own children, especially Will. Thank you, friend, for all the prayers you have prayed for them over the years!!! And I love your boys! 🙂

  3. Pingback: Teaching Children To Pray | Child Central

  4. yvonne montgomery says:

    Very sound advice/instructions! I really look forward to your blogs, keep ’em coming! Love you!

  5. Lisa Allison says:

    Love this, Deborah!! It so fits for us…our children are no longer “little children,” yet I pray for them daily. You are absolutely right about how our prayers change for our children as they grow up. We are truly blessed in being able to talk to God…about EVERYTHING!
    Keep your blogs coming!
    Love ya!
    Lisa Allison

    • Lisa, thank you for reading my blog and for your comment. Boy, we have prayed together over the years haven’t we… for all five of our kids! We are blessed indeed! Love you Lisa!!

  6. Ann Opala says:

    Dear Debbie, one of my greatest gifts from God are your prayers for my children and grandchildren. I believe my prayers and yours are slowly changing their hearts. Some day, they will know who God truly is. Love you Debbie! Thank you Debbie! Ann

  7. rca122 says:

    ‘The Power of a Praying Parent’ by Omartian is an awesome resource! Thanks for this reminder! Lovin’ your blog posts! :~)

  8. Michelle says:

    Deb, I’m loving your blogs! I also love that along with my prayers for my man-child that I know yours are also going up for him. You are truly a great friend, teacher, and leader! Thank you for blessing us by sharing all your knowledge, stories, and faith with us. There have been times that I’ve needed reminded how God is always there; I just have to seek him. Reading your blogs has helped me with that. I have printed this one off and keeping it with me so I can pray with these Scriptures along with my daily prayers 🙂 Love ya!!

  9. That’s a great idea to print these scriptures off and put them in a place where you can see them daily. I will continue to pray for you and Mitch because I love you guys! 🙂

  10. Gerda says:

    Dear Deb,
    I’m going to copy your blog so as to have the fill-in-the-blanks readily at hand. Thank you so much for a wonderful track to run on for my prayers for God’s two greatest blessings to me. Love,
    gto
    P.S. 3 John 1:4 is on my dad’s gravestone!

  11. Good idea! There’s not one second wasted when it’s invested in prayer. You know… I miss seeing you! And now I’m off to look up 3 John 1:4…. 🙂

  12. Vicki Svatos says:

    Dear Debbie, I enjoyed your sharing your moments in prayer about your children, Itd late, now but want to make and take my 4 childrens,and 6 grandchildrens pics and of course my husband and pray, pray, pray…push..pray until something happens. Thank you for your encouragement…your friend, Vicki Svatos. I will pray for your nerds as well..

    • It’s never too late! You just take those picture and pray, pray, pray, as you said, “until something happens!” I like that. Thank you for praying for my children too. You are the sweetest! See you Sunday. 🙂

  13. Deb, I am going to copy this one so I can fill in the blanks when I pray for my children. I can relate to the worn-out knees, but our Lord is faithful. Not always in our timing, but in His. Thanks for this encouraging, lovely post. Love you.

  14. Wonderful! For me there’s just something powerful about reading Scripture with the name written there in it. Yes, God IS faithful…no matter what is going on. 🙂

  15. Kelly Rice says:

    Some of my sweetest memories from the day are of the times I spend in prayer with my kids.

Leave a Reply

