You’re My Favorite

photo credit-debbeesdesigns.com

I hear your laughter.

Many of you have known for a long time that you are my favorite.

Yep…I know I am. Known that for years, you say.

At times this declaration brings funny moments like the time of the Black Mountain Christmas parade and three Montreat students showed up. I hugged one and called her favorite, only to look over and see another one. Read her expression. Grinning she said,

“Really…I thought I was your favorite!”

Or the time I got a text that read: Hello, it’s your favorite. I had to research the number just to be sure which favorite was texting me.

When teaching my day class they knew they were my favorite.

And then when teaching my night class…

You guessed it…favorite, too.

Connect group…Bible study…writer’s critique group?

All favorites.

It’s all good, though. Everyone knows my phrase. They know I think everyone is my favorite.

Why? You ask.

I like showing that I respect you and value the person you are.

The favoritism started as an accident, actually.

I’d say to my eldest child, “You’re my favorite one.”

Until her sister came along.

“You’re my favorite blonde…you’re my favorite red head.”

Next came baby number three.
Yep, you got it!

“You’re my favorite red-headed BOY.”

I told that story to a class 17 years ago. That day I declared they were my favorite class. Well, it stuck. And the rest is history.

Truth is I really believe we all need to feel like we are someone’s favorite. Most people already know they are the apple of someone’s eye but what if someone doesn’t?

Being completely honest, I’d admit that although I don’t know all my students and new friends very well upon first meeting them, I’ve learned that there will be something I like about them. This hasn’t been difficult for me. And it isn’t a lie. There’s a favorite part in each person…I believe.

Hard to like people?

Yep, I can find something…at least one thing… I respect about them.

I’ve had the opportunity to authenticate this verbal affirmation. Whenever we used to make a Student of the Week book for a particular college student we wrote what we liked about him/her. I participated in this process and was always able to observe something good and valuable and write it down for them. Most cases I had a long list of why I liked them and what I viewed as special. Same is true when I taught elementary school.

And so it is. I have many favorites because I genuinely like people and I want them to feel special and important… loved.

Does God have favorites?

I’d like to say NOT because I would be inclined to think it’s someone else!

Maybe all the missionaries serving overseas…

Not me just serving in my classroom and my home.

But when I read the Bible I see something different from my original inclination.

Here, see for yourself from the verses summarized below….

Put your name in the blank.

I, ___________________________ am His workmanship…a piece of work.
Ephesians 2:10a

I have called you_____________________________ by name; you are Mine!
Isaiah 43:1b

I think about you,____________________, more than there is sand on the beaches.
Psalm 139:17-18a

Whew… that’s a lot!

____________________ is fearfully and wonderfully made.
Psalm 139:13-14

Before I formed you, _________________________,in the womb I knew you; Before you were born I sanctified you.
Jeremiah 1:5

You, _____________, are my special treasure.
Exodus 19:5

For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, _______________________, says the Lord, thoughts of peace and not of evil, to give you, _____________________, a future and a hope.
Jeremiah 29:11

___________________ is the apple of my eye!

Zechariah 2:8b

I am a Father to the fatherless, if you__________________, have no earthly father.
Psalm 68:5

I think about you, ___________________, constantly.
Psalm 40:5b

With my name in the blank it kinda… sounds like…hummmm…

I’m His favorite.

I can’t think of another person who loves me and thinks about me like that.

We are all God’s favorites. Just because there are millions of other people in the world, that doesn’t negate the fact that Jesus died for you as if you were the only one.

Today, reflect on this favoritism. Enjoy it. Accept it. Talk to Him about it. And if you haven’t already, make Him your favorite too.

]

This entry was posted in Spiritual Application and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to You’re My Favorite

  1. cindysproles says:

    MUCH MORE PROFESSIONAL…VERY NICE!!! BEAUTIFUL MY FRIEND. Cin

    Cindy Sproles Christian Devotions, Executive Editor Devotional Acquisitions, Lighthouse Publishing of the Carolinas

    http://www.tinkertimeproductions.com http://www.christiandevotions.us/ http://www.devokids.com. http://www.cindysproles.com

    New Sheets: Thirty Days to Refine You into the Woman You Can Be

    HE SAID — SHE SAID One Scripture — Two perspectives (represented by Hartline Literary Agency)

  2. Jill Pruett says:

    Thank you for the encouragement this morning, Debbie! (My favorite!)
    I know we all have days when we need to remember that we are loved so personally by our wonderful Father!

  3. Oh Jill, Sweet Favorite! Thank you for loving me even when I am on coffee overload! You are indeed my gift from God!

  4. Diane Foote says:

    Wow!!! I fill in my family’s name in scripture all the time but I’ve never done this exercise above for me!!! Thank you Debbie. What a blessed way to start the day. Btw, YOU are my favorite. Keep writing…

  5. Diana says:

    One word, Beautiful!!! May we always strive to have and be “favorites” 🙂

  6. yvonne montgomery says:

    Super illustration! Keep them coming! Love you!

  7. Gerda says:

    Hello Deb!
    Fantastic exercise to do with the entire family–to show your love for them, but more importantly, their heavenly Father’s love! I’m a fan and you’re fantastic/my favorite too;-)
    Love,
    gto

  8. Deb, I love this! We all love to be someone’s favorite. By the way, you’re my favorite tall, blonde in our writer’s group! This piece was both heart-warming and encouraging for me. I loved filling in my name in the Scripture passages you listed. Great job! Love you, Girl! Susan

  9. Love your site, Deb! Congrats on your retirement and blessings on your new season of ministry!

  10. Michelle says:

    Deb, I love that I’m your favorite ;). I have to say that I always feel better after talking with you and loved the exercise with filling in my name! We all feel better knowing that we are someones’s favorite and with lifes dealings sometimes we forget that God’s loves all of his children. Thanks for the reminder, Keep it up my friend. Love you!!

  11. erynknighton says:

    Debbie, I needed this!
    Thank you ❤ E

  12. Kelly Rice says:

    Great post from my FAVORITE college instructor! 😉

Leave a Reply

