Spiritual Glasses

Several weeks ago my husband asked our 17 year old son, Will, to call the dog in for the night. Will pressed the button to raise the electric garage door and began whistling and yelling, “Buddy, Buddy, come on Buddy.” It was an extra dark, moonless night. But with a dim garage light, Will could see Buddy pacing back and forth in front of the garage door and he could hear him barking loudly too. So he couldn’t understand why he just continued to pace without coming in. He continued to whistle and call his name for 3-4 more minutes.

Suspecting something could be wrong Will called to his Dad.

“Dad,” he said, “I need your help. I don’t know why Buddy won’t come inside. He just keeps pacing back and forth in front of the garage.”

After getting a good look, Dad’s expression turned from quizzical to shock. Then he said, “I’ll tell ya why.  That’s not Buddy…that’s a bear!”

Yes, Buddy was around the corner of the house barking at the bear. Maybe he was trying to alert Will…or perhaps he was trying to distract him so he wouldn’t move any further into the bear’s territory.

Shock gave way to laughter, as bear sightings are a normal occurrence in our neighborhood.

It was dark, I’ll give ya that. But on this mom’s mind was the same ol’ thought I’ve had a hundred times before: Put on your glasses, Will.

No, things aren’t always what they seem.

It’s that way with people too. People aren’t always what they appear to be on the outside. Maybe you can relate to these experiences: You pass a woman walking down the hall and she refuses to look at you or even smile. Her blatant disregard for you leaves you feeling devalued or inferior as if you weren’t even there. And for sure you label her as unfriendly.

Or perhaps another woman sitting close to you refuses to engage in conversation. In your mind you hear yourself saying what a snob!

But what if none of this is true? Sometimes we mistakenly judge people as rude, unfriendly, or arrogant when they snub us or refuse to engage in conversation or smile.

But what if they are, rather, shy, embarrassed, lack the needed self-confidence to initiate a chat, or just too overwhelmed with personal problems to notice. They may be sad, not mean or mad.

I’ll admit those aren’t always my first thoughts.

When we read 1 Samuel 16:7b we learn “that the Lord does not see as man sees; for man looks at the outward appearance, but the Lord looks at the heart.”

Hum… I do that sometimes…look at the outside.

So I made a mental note to myself to put on my spiritual glasses and look at the hearts of people.

Hey…let’s do this together! Will you join me?

Today many of us will go out—out to the grocery store, the bank, shopping, to the doctor’s office, or to work. Let’s put on our spiritual glasses and genuinely peer into the hearts of those with whom we come in contact. Here’s what we can do:

  • Start with the right attitude and assume the best in people
  • Be kind… first
  • Smile… first
  • Say hello… first
  • Start a conversation… first
  • Or give someone a hand.

Let’s not be a bear! When we acknowledge others, no matter in how small a way, we show them they are worthwhile because they are noticed. We may end up being the inspiration a person needs to get through the day or to change the way they see themselves.

Come on… we can do this. Let’s make today a great day!

Written by Debbie Presnell

Written August 2013

buddy

This entry was posted in Spiritual Application. Bookmark the permalink.

46 Responses to Spiritual Glasses

  1. Angela Strickland says:

    Amen, to such a great message. So proud to have spiritual glasses constantly getting upgraded by such a loving God!
    Thank you for such a great message.

    • Hi Angela! Did I reply to you already? LOL! I’m just learning how to navigate through this site. Thank you so much for reading and for leaving a comment. You have always encouraged me. Will you “click” on the FOLLOW button so you get my blogs weekly? 🙂 I just know that the people you come in contact with today will be better off because of you!

  2. Ann Tatlock says:

    Very wise words, Debbie! Thank you for sharing this. Plus, Buddy is adorable!

  3. And thank you for reading! God bless you!

  4. Caroline Mellard says:

    Oh Mrs. Presnell, as always, you have reminded me to love and see the best in people. Thank you for being that example in your own life!

  5. LuAnn Bryan says:

    Your story is right on! Thanks for sharing with us. Glad both Will and Buddy are ok!

  6. Carolina Leite says:

    Thank you for this reminder, Mrs. Presnell! I am so blessed to know you and to have had you in my life during some challenging times. I love and miss you very much!

  7. skoots1mom says:

    So true…great post…glad your son and his dog are OK…

  8. Mert Honeycutt says:

    As Debbie and Buddy’s neighbor I’ll share a couple other Buddy stories! My dog, Bullet is a Jack Russell and pint-sized as compared to Buddy but Bullet tugs and pulls on our daily walks for me to take him to romp with Buddy. Buddy puts his whole mouth around Bullet’s neck and growls all in fun! Buddy also occasionally escapes his yard and last year at dusk another neighbor was walking her dog and Buddy came silently up behind her and brushed against her hand. Scared her to death – she thought he was a bear!

  9. kelly williams says:

    Spot on friend! I’m using the heart scripture in a meeting i’m in tomorrow! God is doing a great work in your life. love you, Kelly

  10. yvonne montgomery says:

    Darling Daughter, Debbie …. I love, love, love reading all the comments about your beautiful work! (oops … God’s work!) I love you, Mom

  11. Gerda Teo says:

    Hello my dear,
    Thanks for the “Buddy and Will” story. Hope you share more like it. Love your post.
    The list of “firsts” is truly inspired and inspirational. Keep your light shining for our Lord and Saviour; we’ll keep reading and growing with you.
    Love and a big hug,
    Gerda
    P.S. Please tell your mom I said hello.

  12. Oh, Gerta, you have encouraged me! Thank you for reading and for your comment. If you were with me right now I’d hug you!! Also, thanks for becoming a follower. I am super excited about this process but nervous too so I’d love your feedback. I will tell Mom Hi for you. Le’s have a porch party!

  13. Melisa Smith says:

    congratulations on your new blog – it was so inspirational, it really made me think

  14. Ashley says:

    I’m so glad I found your site!! You are truly one of the absolute greatest teachers I’ve ever had, and I know I will continue to find inspiration from you in reading your blog! I’m glad Will and Buddy are both alright. 🙂

  15. Michelle says:

    Debbie, Thanks for sharing the story. We have all been in need of Spiritual Glasses from time to time. You have and will continue to inspire me and many others in our journeys. Cannot wait to read the next one! Glad Will and Buddy are alright.

  16. Michelle, as usual YOU inspire me! Thank you for your comment…and for becoming a follower of my blog! I hope to inspire you weekly! Next post coming within three days!

  17. DM says:

    Wonderful first posting Debbie! Can’t wait to read more! God hasvgreatbplans for you! Thanks! D

  18. LynnK says:

    This is a great reminder and well written as to the mercy and grace of our Savior ! First of all , He has 20/20 vision and, wow am I grateful for that!! Has Will had an eye exam lately?? Hehehe!! 🙂 Keep on blogging for Jesus!!! xoxo

  19. Bobbi Sullivan says:

    A great reminder to us all. When we engage others who seem to be grumpy and out of sorts…so many times we find they are just tired or concentrating hard on doing their job….or thinking of things they have to do. So many times being kind and engaging in conversation will show that ….and so many times the countenance changes and/or that can bring a smile to the other person. So many times………

  20. Bethany says:

    This is so true! I have a friend at work who thought I was a total snob for the first six months I worked there because I didn’t talk to many people. Truth is I was just shy and scared! 🙂

    • Wow! I’m glad she learned the truth about you and didn’t miss out on a fantastic friendship. You may be shy at first, but you quickly become so loving… I love your hugs. 🙂

  21. Monnie says:

    You’re blog Is awesome I really enjoy reading it. Great job!!!!! Thank you!!!!

  22. kelly williams says:

    Hey Debbie, being a runner (slow one at that), i love the relationship description.. Running His race-
    I love it!!

  23. Olga Miller says:

    I do believe God wants to look at the hearts of others not how the person looks or dressed.

  24. susandolly says:

    Lovely post, Deb! I agree, things are not always what they seem! I’ve found that those
    I think are snobs, are usually just insecure. I love the analogy of “spiritual glasses.” Love you, Susie Dollyhigh

  25. Rebecca Gass says:

    Beautiful! Very uplifting and an excellent message!

    Miss You!!
    Rebecca Gass 🙂

  26. Kelly Rice says:

    Beautifully written and very well stated. 🙂

Leave a Reply

